A look back at National Signing Day: Texas 2008

A look back at National Signing Day: Texas 2008
January 31, 2013, 4:00 pm
Share This Post

If there’s one thing that’s certain about the recruits that sign letters of intent on Wednesday, it’s that not every recruit is going to be a difference maker for the school they sign with. And a larger percentage than anyone would like to admit will wash out completely.

To show you how inexact a science recruiting is, we’re taking a look back at the signing classes of five Texas schools from 2008 to see how they panned out. Today we’re tackling the University of Texas.

UT won four straight bowl games prior to NSD 2008, and was coming off a 52-34 win over Arizona State in the Holiday Bowl. The Longhorns signed 20 recruits that year, and while the Longhorns won 47 games over the next five seasons, including a BCS Bowl win and an appearance in the BCS National Championship Game, it also included the only losing season in Mack Brown’s tenure at Texas.

Successes: Blake Gideon, Aaron Williams, Kheeston Randall, Justin Tucker, Emmanuel Acho, David Snow

Contributors: D.J. Moore, Ryan Roberson, Brock Fitzhenry, Dravanti Johnson, Luke Poehlman, Jeremy Hills, Dan Buckner, Mark Buchanan, D.J. Grant

What might have been: Nolan Brewster, Jarvis Humphrey, Mark Buchanan, DeSean Hales, Antoine Hicks

Injuries: Tre Newton

Justin Tucker is best known for his game-winning kick over Texas A&M in the last meeting between the two schools, and parlayed his four years at UT to the NFL. Now he's a Baltimore win over San Francisco away from getting a Super Bowl ring.

Aaron Wiliams named Second Team All Big 12 by coaches and the AP in 2010 before leaving for the NFL. Taken in the second round pick by the Bills, he has 12 passes defended so far.

Emmanuel Acho was the lone person to be named to the First Team All Big 12 (2011) from this class. He is now in the NFL with the Cleveland Browns.

Blake Gideon started four years for the Longhorns, though his signature moment might be the interception he failed to hold on to the play before Texas Tech’s Graham Harrell and Michael Crabtree connected for the game winning touchdown in 2008.