Watt is team MVP; Schaub wins courage award

Watt is team MVP; Schaub wins courage award
December 21, 2012, 5:00 pm
Share This Post

J.J. Watt has been selected as the Texans' 2012 MVP and seems to be at least in the conversation for the league's MVP award.

Matt Schaub received the Ed Block Courage Award, while Ben Jones is the team's Rookie of the Year and Chris Myers is the Mark Bruener Award winner.

Watt has 34.5 sacks and passes defended combined this season. With 19.5 sacks, the single season NFL record is within reach. Previous winners of the team MVP award include Brian Cushing, Arian Foster, Andre Johnson and DeMeco Ryans.

Schaub's 2011 season ended early when he suffered a Lisfranc injury in Week 10 and missed the franchise's first-ever playoff win. But he is back this season and has already thrown for 3,555 yards, good for fifth in the AFC, to go along with 22 touchdowns. His 64.7 completion percentage is second among AFC QBs. Last year's winner of the award was DeMeco Ryans, who came back from an injury in 2010.

Jones started the season as a backup splitting reps with veteran Antoine Caldwell at right tackle but slowly won the starting jobs. He took over in Week 7 and has started every game since. Last year's award went to Watt.

Myers won the Mark Bruener Award, which is given to the player who exemplifies outstanding leadership, sportsmanship, work ethic and commitment to his teammates. He has started 78 straight games at center and continues to remain heavily involved with the community. Myers has won the award two times in the past three seasons. Ryans won it last year.

More Team Talk