Watt named PFW/PFWA Defensive MVP

Watt named PFW/PFWA Defensive MVP
January 10, 2013, 4:15 pm
Share This Post

Phillips on Watt: 'He had the best season ever'

And the accolades keep rolling in for J.J. Watt.

This time he has been named the Defensive MVP by Pro Football Weekly and the Professional Football Writers of America.

Watt was a two-time AFC Defensive Player of the Month this season and will most likely be named the Defensive Player of the Year.

He finished with 20 1/2 sacks and became the first player in NFL history with 15 sacks and 15 passes defended in the regular season. He also led the Texans with 81 tackles, including 39 for loss and four forced fumbles.

In addition to Watt, Texans' left tackle Duane Brown was also named to the PFW/PFWA All-NFL team.

"Equally good as a pass protector and run blocker, the extremely athletic Brown excels at getting to the second level for a Texans offense that ranked seventh in the league and produced a 1,000-yard rusher for the third consecutive season," the story reads. "In his five pro seasons, Brown has been penalized for holding only twice."

While Watt was the Defensive MVP, he lost out on the overall MVP award to Vikings' running back Adrian Peterson.

Peterson was also the Offensive MVP after a 2,000-yard rushing season. He finished nine yards shy of the single-season rushing record.

More Team Talk