Watt named PFF's DPOY for second year

Watt named PFF's DPOY for second year
January 7, 2014, 11:15 am
Share This Post

STL: Mike Florio on Bill O'Brien hire

(USA Today Images)

J.J. Watt had one of the best seasons in NFL history in 2012. But ProFootballFocus thinks Watt had an even better year in 2013.

No, the eye-popping statistics weren't there but Watt was named the PFF Defensive Player of the Year in 2013 and it wasn't even close.

Watt won the Associated Press' Defensive Player of the Year in 2012. He'll be a candidate from this season but after the Texans' 2-14 season and a drop in stats, it's unlikely he'll win it this year, even though PFF says he was better.

Last season Watt was awarded the highest grade ever (101.6) but this year, he was given a plus-111.6.

"Right now Watt is the best defender in football, and the best player period in the NFL," writes PFF. "He deserves his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award and it’s a testament to the seasons of others that it’s not a slam-dunk selection."

Last season Watt was 207 percent better than the next closest 3-4 defensive end. This year, he was 268 percent better. Watt's worst game of the season was against the Rams. In that game, he registered a 0.2, which is still better than average.

PFF said that although Watt's numbers were better in 2012, that race was actually closer with Von Miller and Geno Atkins. This year, it was a landslide.

The second-place finisher was Robert Quinn. After that came Gerald McCoy and Lavonte David.

More Team Talk