Voters pass on Strahan for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Voters pass on Strahan for Pro Football Hall of Fame
February 2, 2013, 6:15 pm
Share This Post

Getting into the Hall of Fame is proving a difficult task for sports figures from Houston.

Defensive end Michael Strahan failed to garner enough votes to earn enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday. This was the first year on the Hall of Fame ballot.

The 2013 Hall of Fame Class: Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Jonathan Odgen, Bill Parcells, Dave Robinson, Warren Sapp, Curly Culp.

Strahan, who graduated from Westbury High School and then TSU in Houston, spent his entire career with the Giants, recorded 141.5 sacks in his career and still holds the single season record for sacks with 22.5 in 2001.

A four-time All Pro and seven-time Pro Bowler, Strahan was also named the NFL’s Defensive MVP after the 2001 season when he set the single season sack record.

Strahan would have been just the fourth defensive end, and the first since 2006, to be elected in their first year of eligibility. Reggie White, Deacon Jones and Gino Marchetti are still the only players who hold that distinction.  

The Giants won their first Super Bowl since the Bill Parcels era in Strahan’s final year with the team. In the Super Bowl the Giants defensive line pressured New England’s Tom Brady relentlessly throughout the game, holding the Patriots to just 14 points in the game. It was the first time all season that New England had been held under 20 points all season. Strahan recorded on sack in the game.