Kubiak disagrees with call on Jackson

Kubiak disagrees with call on Jackson
September 30, 2013, 4:00 pm
Share This Post

One of the pivotal plays in the Texans’ 23-20 overtime loss to the Seahawks on Sunday afternoon was because of a penalty.

Kareem Jackson tackled Seahawks wide receiver Doug Baldwin after a seven-yard gain on second down, which would have forced a key third-down situation, but Jackson was flagged and the Texans were penalized 15 yards because Jackson picked up the receiver and slammed him to the ground. Four plays later, the Seahawks won the game on a field goal.

After the game on Sunday, head coach Gary Kubiak said he hadn’t seen the play and needed to watch it. By Monday afternoon, he had.

“I’ve seen it many a times. I don’t agree with it,” Kubiak said. “I understand the rule about picking somebody up and putting them on their head, I understand that. But I didn’t see the play that way. Obviously, the league’s got the call on that, so we’ll see what they come back and say to us.”

Jackson has already been fined $42,000 for a hit earlier this season. After Sunday’s game, he wasn’t sure what he did wrong.

“As a player, you try to keep yourself totally out of that situation but you have to tackle a guy too,” Kubiak said. “You have to get him down. Like I said, I don’t agree with it but that’s not my call, it’s the league. We’ll see how they respond to it.”