Culp elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Culp elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame
February 2, 2013, 8:45 pm
Share This Post

Nose tackle Curley Culp, who spent five full seasons with the Houston Oilers and parts of two more, was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday. He will be inducted Aug. 3, 2013 in Canton, Ohio.

He was a veterans committee selection on the ballot along with Green Bay linebacker Dave Robinson.

Robinson, Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Jonathan Odgen, Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, were all selected as a part of this year's class along with Culp.

Culp, who built a reputation as a tough, mean player throughout his career, started his career in Kansas City and was part of the team that beat Minnesota in Super Bowl IV, the only Super Bowl in Chiefs history.

In 1974 Culp was traded to Houston from the Chiefs where he anchored the Oilers 3-4 defense. He was an integral part of the defense in the Luv ya Blue era, the most successful years the Oilers spent in the NFL.

Culp was named to the second team All NFL in 1971 by the Pro Football Writers, and was a first team All Pro in 1975 and was a six time Pro Bowler.

Culp becomes the 10th player who spent at least three seasons with the Houston Oilers to be elected into the Hall of Fame, joining Elvin Bethea, George Blanda, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Bruce Matthews, Warren Moon and Mike Munchak.

More Team Talk