By the Numbers: Biggio misses HOF by 2 votes

By the Numbers: Biggio misses HOF by 2 votes
January 8, 2014, 2:30 pm
Share This Post

Astros president Ryan on Biggio missing HOF

(USA Today Images)

In his career, Craig Biggio collected 3,060 hits, 668 doubles, went to seven All-Star Games and won four Gold Gloves.

But on Wednesday, he needed two more votes.  

That’s how short he was of gaining the 75 percent of votes to be a part of this year’s Hall of Fame class. He finished with 74.8 percent of the vote.

In his second year of eligibility, Biggio was selected on 427 of the 571 submitted ballots, which gave him 74.78108 percent of the total vote. Even if’s Ken Gurnick – who has been tongue-lashed by fans on Twitter after voting for Jack Morris alone – didn’t turn in his ballot, Biggio would have still fallen short.

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas were the three players selected this year.

Biggio became the third person to fall two votes shy of election into the Hall of Fame, joining Nellie Fox in 1985 and Pie Traynor in 1947. Both eventually became Hall of Famers. Traynor was made it in the next year (1948) but Fox had to wait until 1999, when the Veteran’s Committee put him in.

While the 48-year-old Biggio didn’t make it in this year, he did see a nice increase over his vote total from last season. In his first year of eligibility in 2013, he received 68.2 percent of the vote.

Biggio finished with the highest percentage of all players last year and seemed likely to make it in 2014. But he was hurt by the newcomers in this year’s class. Maddux, Glavine and Thomas all made it in their first years of eligibility.

While those newcomers hurt Biggio, they hurt his teammate Jeff Bagwell more. Bagwell dropped from 59.6 percent of the vote to 54.3 this year. Roger Clemens also dropped from 37.6 percent to 35.4. Barry Bonds dropped from 36.2 to 34.7.

And it won’t get any easier in 2015. Next year’s ballot will include newcomers Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, John Smoltz and Gary Sheffield.

Of the guys that got in this year, Maddux got the most votes. He took 555 votes of the 571 ballots (97.2 percent), which means 16 members of the BBWAA who have a Hall of Fame vote didn’t think the 355-game winner was worthy.

Last year, Aaron Sele was the only member of the one-vote club. This year, he was joined by Armando Benitez, Jacque Jones and Kenny Rogers. Those three were one of nine who got votes but didn’t get the required five percent to stay on the ballot. The most notable guy who missed there was Rafael Palmeiro (4.4 percent)

After the three selected and Biggio, there were three players who received over 50 percent of the vote: Mike Piazza (62.2), Jack Morris (61.5) and Bagwell (54.3)

More Team Talk